4 forms of nystagmus Osteopathybooks

4 forms of nystagmus

A nystagmus is a slow deviation of the eye to one side with a fast correction to the other side.

The nystagmus is named according to the fast side.

There are 4 forms:
• Physiological: such as when sitting in a moving vehicle and looking outside.
• Peripheral: pathology of the vestibular system (nucleus of cranial nerve 8 or of cranial nerve 8 itself).
• Central: cerebellar problem.
• Retinal: impossible to fix the gaze.

Procedure: the finger moves smoothly from superior to inferior and from right to left, and the patient is asked to follow the fingertip with the eyes.

To know more: CLICK HERE

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.